Buddha-Nature

by Friends of Godwin

Godwin-Icon

We can really feel as though we are a nobody. We say to ourselves: “No one likes me. Everyone rejects me. I’m a victim. Poor me”. This is what I call being a nobody in the sense that you’re giving minuses to yourself and you’re getting minuses from other people. From feeling like nobody we need to feel like somebody. For that we need plusses from ourselves: we have to learn to see the positive in ourselves, to rejoice in the good things that we have been doing.

This is why I emphasise loving-kindness very much. We all have the qualities by which we can really free ourselves. They are all hidden inside us. Meditation or the spiritual life should enable us to see these inner resources that we have. The practice is to see that the Buddha-nature is within us and to allow this Buddha-nature to flower out.

You can also be nobody in the true sense of the word. When you are truly nobody, you are no longer dependent on plusses or minuses. You have gone beyond plusses and minuses. That is where you learn to be your own toy and you learn to be really self-contained within yourself.

